Welcome to the All Hallows’ Sacramental Program for 2020.

Reconciliation and Holy Communion

This year, your child in Year 3 will be invited to receive the Sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist at All Hallows’ Parish.

The All Hallows’ Parish Sacramental team has reviewed past practices of preparing children for the sacraments to ensure that these experiences fully honour parent’s responsibilities in forming their child to receive these sacraments. Our new program is designed to give parents an opportunity to connect with their children on a spiritual level in preparation for the sacraments.

There will be an initial meeting on Tuesday 25 February at 7pm in the Church to give parents/carers information about the program, including how and where the catechesis will take place. You will also have the opportunity to meet the catechists and choose what session time you will be attending. The resource fee of $45 is due at this time and can be paid in cash or by credit card.

There will be 4 weeks of preparation for each sacrament. Each week, groups will gather with an assigned leader who will guide parents and children through the program. Each session will be held either before or after mass, providing families an opportunity to attend the Eucharist together.

The sacramental preparation for First Reconciliation will be held over four weekends:

Session 1: Saturday 29 February/Sunday 1 March

Session 2: Saturday 7 March/Sunday 8 March

Session 3: Saturday 14 March/Sunday 15 March

Session 4: Saturday 21 March/Sunday 22 March

Sacrament of Reconciliation: Saturday 28 March at 10.30am

During the first session on 29 February/1 March, parents will be meeting together with Fr Matthew in the All Hallows school multi-purpose room at the time of your child’s first session. This is simply an introduction and a help to parents as they move forward with the spiritual education of their children. The title of that session is “How to Talk to Your Children About God.” For all other sessions, parents will be with their children and the catechist.

The program for the Sacrament of Holy Communion will be as follows:

Commitment mass: Saturday 13 June/Sunday 14 June

Session 1: Saturday 21 June/Sunday 22 June

Session 2: Saturday 27 June/Sunday 28 June

Session 3: Saturday 25 July/Sunday 26 July

Session 4: Saturday 1 August/Sunday 2 August

Sacrament of Holy Communion: Saturday 8 August/Sunday 9 August

Through the parent formation meeting and the subsequent group meetings, parents will be more adequately prepared to educate their children to receive these sacraments.

Preparing a child to receive a sacrament can be a transforming experience both for parents and their children. This period of preparation will provide opportunities to bring parents and children closer together and experience more deeply the love of God in their lives.

We pray for God’s blessings and grace to guide you and your family during this program.

Please contact the Parish office on 9713-7960 or parishallhallows@gmail.com with any enquiries.

If you are interested in joining the All Hallows Sacramental program, please fill out the application form below and return it to the parish office at your earliest convenience. 

 

Information regarding Confirmation will be coming soon.